A proud Bihari

I came here to build my future,
Not for Delhites to bully me.
Just because I’m a Bihari,
doesn’t mean you’ll torture me.

My blood is red,
So is yours.
But I’m an alien to you,
And being Bihari is the cause.

You want me to change my accent,
Why can’t you?
You want me to change myself,
Why can’t you?

You call me ‘Dehaati’
But I obey my parents more than you do.
You call me ‘Gawar’
But I respect girls more than you do.

You call Biharis uneducated,
Have a look at civil exams results.
You talk about patriotism,
Have a look at Biharis on the Border.

You never want to come to our place,
Because that’s dirty for you.
But we come to your place,
And we fly higher than you.

I’m a Bihari.
It’s the Bihari inside me,
Which teaches me to obey my elders.
It’s the Bihari inside me,
Which tells me to respect girls.
It’s the Bihari inside me,
Which asks me to respect my teachers.
It’s the Bihari inside me,
Which makes a trustworthy friend better than others.

Yes, I’m a dehaati gawar Bihari,
Still better than most of you.
Yes, I’m a Bihari,
A proud Bihari.
A proud Indian.

One line to end.
“एक बिहारी,
सब पर भारी”

Leave a Reply

